Top » Catalog » CDs in numerical order » M083A My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   

El Viaje


El Viaje


?El Viaje?

Jazz from Buenos Aires!

Redbook CD in high quality digipak, printed in Japan.

Listen to track #1:
"El Viaje"

An Original DSD 5.6 mHz MA Recording, April, 2010 in Buenos Aires, Argentina

While Argentina is most famous (perhaps infamous?) for Tango, various other forms of folk, pop and of course rock music (Rock Nacional) have developed and morphed over the years. Even though Argentine jazz is nowhere near as well known as Tango, at least since the early 1960s, there has been ongoing activity among creative and improvising jazz musicians, most of them in Buenos Aires. A recent entry to that scene is the jazz trio Camalotes, lead by keyboardist Lucas Nikotian (he also plays with Puente Celeste`s ?Nama? M084A) along with bassist Fabian Martin and drummer Tomas Babjaczuk. While all three members of Camalotes are city people, their music is somewhat subdued and similar to the sophisticated European feel of ECM with the added mystery and profound beauty of the Argentine countryside. Seven tracks on the record are by Lucas Nikotian, while the remaining 3 are by bassist Fabian Martin.

Camalotes` album was recorded in the hall at Instituto Goethe Buenos Aires which has very little in the way of a deep, natural acoustic. While the sound of the room is almost ?dead?, at the same time, the recording is ?alive? with an intimacy and immediacy rarely heard on today`s recordings.

All of the cover photos on ?El Viaje? are by the great Argentine photographer (and fortunately, very enthusiastic MA fan!) Juan Hitters, whose photos are often seen on ECM, BIS and Naxos covers as well. Please check out his amazing website here:

?El Viaje? was recorded in early April, 2010, at the ultra high sampling rate of 5.6 MHz with MA`s newly acquired Korg MR-2000 DSD one bit master recorder. The usual pair of MA custom, DC powered mikes with 16mm DPA omnidirectional capsules was used, along with a 3 meter pair of Crystal Cable Ultra XLR cables. High Resolution mastering was done with Samplitude Master software at 176.4 kHz.

Sonically Yours,

todd garfinkle


Add to Cart Reviews

Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search

2 x Schumann / Kinderszenen, Davidsbündlertänze
2 x Seven Waves
1 x Sera una Noche HiRez DVD-ROM
1 x Music Journal
1 x The Immigrant's Dilemma
1 x Out of Time and Country 24bit/176.4 kHz Hi Rez WAV file DVD-ROM
2 x MICRO Interconnects (XLR) - Half Meter Pair
1 x Bulgarian Piano Blues
2 x J. S. Bach / 6 Suites a Violoncello Solo Senza Basso Vol. 1
1 x MICRO Interconnects (XLR) - One Meter Pair
1 x Quatuor Gabriel - Piano Quartets by G. Faure + E. Chausson
1 x LA SEGUNDA 180gm 2LP 33rpm set
1 x La Segunda Original 176.4 kHz WAV file HiRez Download
1 x Sheila Jordan + Harvie Swartz "The Very Thought of Two"
1 x CRYSTAL CONNECT IPod CABLE (mini-jack to RCA) - Half Meter Cable
1 x Goldberg Variations
1 x L`Infidele
1 x Sera una Noche redbook CD
1 x Nima ben David "Resonance" 190gm Audiophile 2LP set
2 x "Krushevo" 24 bit/96 kHz Hi Rez WAV file DVD-ROM
2 x J.S. Bach/6 Suites a Violoncello Solo Senza Basso Vol. 2 HiRez
1 x Voice of the Pipa
1 x Transcending Continents and Memories 176.4 kHz HiRez Download
1 x Flute Sonatas of J. S. Bach volume 1
2 x Esquina
2 x Llama
1 x "CRYSTAL SPEAK" PICCOLO (spades connectors) - Two Meter Pair
2 x Still Light
1 x Albumblätter
1 x Old School
1 x Opening 24bit/176.4 kHz HiRez DVD-ROM
3 x The Old Country
1 x Chopin According to Fei Ping Hsu
1 x 5.6 MHz NATIVE DSD Download of "Nama" by Puente Celeste
1 x Medieval Spanish Dances
1 x Without Words
1 x MICRO Interconnects (RCA) - One Meter Pair
1 x "Resonance" 24bit/176.4 kHz HiRez WAV file DVD-ROM
1 x "Nama" Redbook CD
1 x Dream Song
2 x PICCOLO Interconnects - One Meter Pair
2 x J.S. Bach/6 Suites a Violoncello Solo Senza Basso Vol. 1 HiRez
1 x "Krushevo" 45rpm 165gm 2LP opaque blue vinyl set
1 x Sorrow of the River
1 x 5.6 MHz NATIVE DSD Download of "Opening" by Mathias Landaeus Tri
1 x CRYSTAL CONNECT IPod CABLE (mini-jack to RCA) - One Meter Cable
1 x Mudejar
1 x Llama 24bit/88.2 kHz Hi-Rez DVD-ROM
1 x In the Midst of Winds
1 x J. S. Bach Goldberg Variations Hi-Rez 24bit/176 kHz WAV file DVD
2 x Luz Destino
2 x La Segunda
1 x Labyrinths
1 x Prayers Wishes Illusions
1 x Transcending Continents and Memories (CD)
1 x "CRYSTAL SPEAK" MICRO (banana connectors) - Two Meter Pair
1 x "Resonance" Original 176.4 kHz WAV file HiRez Download
1 x Le Temple du Goút
1 x Almas
1 x MICRO Interconnects (RCA) - Half Meter Pair
1 x Nama 176.4 kHz PCM HiRez Download
Artist Info
Other products

Copyright © 2019 MA Recordings
Powered by osCommerce