Top » Catalog » Caro Mitis » CM0022003 My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   




(early 1740s -1777)

CM 0022003
Hybrid SACD

more info and audio samples
[page will open in new window]


Sinfonia in C major (1770-1773)
The First Russian symphony

Aria of Timante "Prudente Mi Chiedi" from "Il Demofonte" opera (1773)

Aria of Timante "Misero Pargoletto" from "Il Demofonte" opera (1773)

Sonata in B flat major for Harpsichord

Sonata in C major for Harpsichord

Sonata in F major for Harpsichord (in two parts)

Sonata in C major for Violin and Harpsichord (1772)

Quartet "Cast Me Not Off In The Time Of Old Age" (before 1769)
(transcription for Strings by P. Serbin, 2003)

Tracks 1 - 9 are the World Premiere Recordings


Caro Mitis Multichannel SACD CM 0022003, 54:48
Pratum Integrum Orchestra (original instruments)

3 Stars - ***

World premiere recordings of works by an 18th century Russian composer

These are all world premiere recordings of music by a Russian composer and singer who lived until 1777. The performances are by a highly skilled ensemble of young Russian musicians comprising one of the only original instrument ensembles in Russia. We have reviewed earlier SACDs from Caro Mitis; they are engineered primarily by Polyhymnia in Holland and have the highest sonic standards.

There are opposing views of Berezovsky?s career, importance as a composer, and death in at least two sources: the album?s note booklet and Nicolas Slonimsky?s Baker?s Dictionary. Slonimsky dispenses with the composer in a short paragraph, saying that the Russian court chapel sent him to study in Bologna, Italy - where he wrote his opera Il Demofonte. And that upon returning to Russia Italian musicians had taken all the good positions, which made Berezovsky despondent and he killed himself. The Russian authority who compiled the liner notes says that upon his return Berezovsky actually got a very high position as capellmeister of the Royal Court capella, and that he died while still in his 30s from a disease. The suicide story evidently was started by the composer?s first biographer, who talked about ?hypochondria? leading him to ?a fever and insanity,? and making him ?stab himself to death.?

The opening Sinonia is considered very first Russian symphony. It is in a sort of generic 18th century style, as are the three sonatas for harpsichord, which were just recently discovered. Berezovsky wrote much liturgical music and his concerto for four voices ?Cast me Not Off in the Time of Old Age? is regarded as his greatest sacred work. Therefore it seems odd that it is the closing, and most interesting work, on this SACD with the overall title of Secular Music (although it is an arrangement for string quartet rather than the original voices). I?m sorry but although this is commendable production in all aspects, I can?t fully agree with the notes? characterization of Berezovsky as a genius.

- John Sunier
Audiophile Audition

MA Recordings will soon be discontinuing the sale of Caro Mitis, the Hybrid SACD classical label from Russia.

All recordings produced by Caro Mitis (translated from the Latin as "Succulent Fruit") are pure multi-channel DSD productions, most of them recorded in the revered studios of The Russian Television and Radio Broadcasting Company (RTR) in Moscow.

Caro Mitis' policy is to present state-of-art performances of classical works by outstanding Russian & European musicians, ensembles & orchestras. The catalog contains a number of World Premiere Recordings, particularly of early music.

Caro Mitis fundamentals are:

? recording and postproduction by Polyhymnia International B.V. from Holland, the leader in the SACD format that also works with Harmonia Mundi, Pentatone and others.

? manufacturing of all titles as hybrid SACDs (thus allowing listeners to play the disks on regular CD-players as well as SACD players) at SONY DADC (Austria);

? unique designs for each disk (created by Kosta Gusalov - one of the leading Russian graphic artists) based on the use of national historical engravings

? multi-lingual booklets and inlays with extensive illustrated information

? a long-term recording program with a number of World Premiere Recordings every year.


Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search

12 x La Segunda 24bit/176.4 kHz Hi-Rez DVD-ROM
3 x Llama
7 x Ghatam
5 x The King's Teacher
3 x Krushevo
9 x Sera una Noche redbook CD
7 x Opening 24bit/176.4 kHz HiRez DVD-ROM
7 x Goldberg Variations - Gold CDR
2 x I am Willing
4 x In the Midst of Winds
3 x J. S. Bach / 6 Suites a Violoncello Solo Senza Basso Vol. 1
3 x J. S. Bach/Orgelbüchlein
1 x Journey - Podróz
5 x Keys to Talk By
3 x L`Infidèle
9 x La Segunda
1 x Labyrinths
1 x Le Temple du Goút
3 x Levantine Tales
1 x Medieval Spanish Dances
2 x Mozart "Works From His Golden Age (1781-1791) Redbook CD
3 x Mudejar
1 x Music Journal
2 x Nascer
2 x O Exílio
1 x Old School
2 x Out of Time and Country
1 x Phfew
3 x Prayers Wishes Illusions
3 x Quatuor Gabriel - Piano Quartets by G. Faure + E. Chausson
3 x Resonance
8 x Salterio
3 x Seeing Unknown Colors
8 x Seeing Unknown Colors - Gold CD
2 x Senhora da Lapa
1 x Seven Waves
3 x Shadow Bright
1 x Solus
2 x Songs From Within
3 x Sorrow of the River
1 x Staring at the Sun
2 x Still Light
3 x The Immigrant's Dilemma
1 x The Invisible
4 x The Lute Music of J.S. Bach - Vol. 1
3 x The Lute Music of J.S. Bach - Vol. 2
3 x The Old Country
3 x The Piano Music of Alberto Ginastera Vol 1
10 x The Splendour of Al-Andalus
14 x The Splendour of Al-Andalus - Gold
3 x The Very Thought of Two
3 x To the Winter Sun
4 x Tonos y Tonadas
8 x Transcending Continents and Memories (CD)
4 x Up & Down
3 x Voice of the Pipa
3 x Voices
3 x Window Mirror
3 x With Space in Mind
2 x Without Words
4 x Worlds
3 x El Viaje
3 x Flute Sonatas of J. S. Bach volume 1
3 x "Man From Plovdiv" CD QUALITY DOWNLOAD
8 x "Nama" Redbook CD
3 x "Opening"
3 x Albumblätter
2 x Almas
2 x Buenos Aires Madrigal
3 x Bulgarian Piano Blues
3 x Chopin According to Fei Ping Hsu
3 x City Rhapsody
2 x Contrasts and Parallels
2 x Dance
2 x Departe De Casa
2 x Esquina
2 x Evidence of Things Unseen
2 x Goldberg Variations
2 x Further Attempts
11 x "Nama" 24bit/176.4 kHz Hi-Rez DVD-ROM
11 x 5.6 MHz NATIVE DSD Download of "Nama" by Puente Celeste
6 x Nama 176.4 kHz PCM HiRez Download
1 x "Opening" single layer SACD/CD comparison package
6 x 5.6 MHz NATIVE DSD Download of "Opening" by Mathias Landaeus Tri
6 x Mathias Landaeus Trio "Opening" 45rpm 2LP 180gm vinyl set
1 x Forever Wishing
6 x J. S. Bach Goldberg Variations Hi-Rez 24bit/176 kHz WAV download
6 x J. S. Bach Goldberg Variations Hi-Rez 24bit/176 kHz WAV file DVD
6 x J. S. Bach Goldberg Variations LP 20th Anniversary Edition 180gm
1 x Schumann / Kinderszenen, Davidsbündlertänze
5 x Transcending Continents and Memories 176.4 kHz HiRez Download
6 x La Segunda Original 176.4 kHz WAV file HiRez Download
6 x "Resonance" Original 176.4 kHz WAV file HiRez Download
6 x "Resonance" 24bit/176.4 kHz HiRez WAV file DVD-ROM
6 x Nima ben David "Resonance" 190gm Audiophile 2LP set
11 x Será Una Noche 24bit/96kHz WAV file, Hi-Rez DVD-ROM
11 x Sera una Noche 45rpm 180gm EP
12 x Sera una Noche 45rpm 180gm EP Red Vinyl Edition
6 x Out of Time and Country 24bit/176.4 kHz Hi Rez WAV file DVD-ROM
6 x Mozart "Works From His Golden Age 24bit/176.4 kHz
6 x Llama 24bit/88.2 kHz Hi-Rez DVD-ROM
6 x J.S. Bach/6 Suites a Violoncello Solo Senza Basso Vol. 2 HiRez
6 x J.S. Bach/6 Suites a Violoncello Solo Senza Basso Vol. 1 HiRez
6 x "Krushevo" 24 bit/96 kHz Hi Rez WAV file DVD-ROM
6 x MA Recordings Inner Sleeves (50 sleeves)
11 x LA SEGUNDA 180gm 2LP 33rpm set
10 x Transcending Continents and Memories 33.3 rpm 180gm LP
6 x "Krushevo" 45rpm 180gm 2LP set (black)
6 x "Krushevo" 45rpm 165gm 2LP opaque blue vinyl set
Artist Info
Other products

Copyright © 2018 MA Recordings
Powered by osCommerce